Off the bird watching bucketlist – The Pileated Woodpecker

I am willing to admit that I am a birdwatcher and I have several bird feeders outside the house. Yes, I even have a copy of the Peterson Field Guide to Birds of North America and I bought binoculars for the very purpose of watching birds.

For years, I’ve wanted to see a Pileated Woodpecker but have never caught a glimpse of one. Though I’ve never actively sought out the Pileated Woodpecker either. This winter that changed. We had a pair of Pileated Woodpeckers hanging around in the pasture and the yard. I was able to watch the pair out the window all from the comfort of the couch. But was unable to capture any pictures of the two birds, they flew away before I could get close enough for a photo. They are neat site until you see the damage they can do! The first two photos are a White Pine along the road and the second an Oak tree in the pasture.

IMG_2063 IMG_2066 IMG_2067

Leave a Reply

